Frequently Asked Questions

What are the Etsy Design Awards?

The Etsy Design Awards (aka The Etsies) are Etsy’s global award program. Honoring the work of sellers from around the world and across multiple categories, The Etsies celebrate our global community of creative entrepreneurs and shine a spotlight on their unique talents. From 100 finalists, one seller will be crowned the Etsy Design Award Grand Prize Winner, while 10 others will be named Etsy Design Award Winners in each featured category. New this year, the People’s Choice Award will be determined by community vote in September.

Which category should I enter?

There are 10 award categories to choose from. Please see our category breakdown to help determine which category best fits your product.

Can I enter more than once?

You may enter once per shop that you own: and for each shop you may only enter one product in one category. We recommend choosing the item that you feel best represents your talents.

Do I need to have an Etsy shop to enter the competition?

Yes, an Etsy Seller account is required to enter the competition.

How do I enter the competition?

To enter the Etsy Design Awards, simply follow the steps outlined here.

Can I edit my entry?

No, you will need to complete your entry at the time you start it. You will have a chance to review your entry before final submission.

What are the submission dates for sellers?

Submissions will be open from June 17, 2020, at 12:01 am ET until July 15, 2020, at 11:59 pm ET. Finalists will be notified no later than September 8, 2020 and winners will be announced in October 2020.

What if I miss the deadline for submissions?

To be fair to all applicants, and in accordance with the Official Rules, we are unable to accept entries after the submission deadline.

What are the competition rules and prizing details?

The Etsy Design Awards rules and prizing details can be found in the Official Rules.

What criteria must I meet in order to apply?

To qualify for entry, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Your shop is active.
  • Your shop has at least 5 listings.
  • Your submitted item has at least 3 photos.
  • You are the owner of the shop and are submitting yourself (please do not enter on another shop’s behalf).
  • You are only submitting one entry per shop.
  • Your shop and items comply with Etsy Guidelines and Etsy Seller Guidelines.
  • If your item is vintage or one-of-a-kind, we require that you put this item on hold from the time you enter until finalists are announced in September. If your vintage or one-of-a-kind item sells during this period, you submission becomes null and void.

Sellers from which countries are eligible to enter the Etsy Design Awards?

Sellers in the following countries may enter: United States, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, and Vietnam.

Why is my country not included?

While we’ve tried to be as inclusive of as many sellers globally as possible, due to legal restrictions, the Etsy Design Awards is not open to sellers in all countries.

How are the Etsy Design Awards winners determined?

Etsy will narrow down all the applicants to a maximum of 100 total finalists across the 10 categories. After the initial review, the Etsy Design Awards judging panel will be reviewing and selecting finalists according to the six criteria below to determine the 10 Category Winners and the Grand Prize Winner. The People’s Choice Award will be given to the finalist that receives the most votes during the voting period in September 2020.

What are the criteria my product will be judged on?

Here is a breakdown of what will be considered:

  • Quality: Overall level of craftsmanship and skill
  • Creativity & innovation: Is your item unique or imaginative?
  • Utility & functionality: Is your item functional? Does it serve its purpose?
  • ‘Wow’ factor: Is your item stunning?
  • Personal story: Your maker or curator story
  • Top-notch branding: Does your shop feature clear, compelling descriptions, excellent customer service, and high-quality photography?

What's the best way to prepare my shop for the Etsy Design Awards?

We’re looking for eye-catching shops that offer a great customer experience. If you become a finalist, all eyes could be on your items. To prepare for a potential increase in traffic and to give your submission an edge, make sure your shop is in its best shape. That includes best practices like completing your shop policies, using all 13 tags in your submitted product’s listing, and capturing all its best angles with at least five photos. Read 7 Essential Types of Product Photos for ideas. Bonus tip: Consider going the extra mile for customers and standing out to judges by shipping globally.

How will I find out if I am a finalist?

Etsy will notify all finalists directly using the email address provided with their entry no later than September 8, 2020. See the Official Rules for more information.

How will I find out if I am a winner?

Etsy will notify all winners directly using the email address provided with their entry in October, 2020. We will also notify the public of all the winners on no later than October 31, 2020. See the Official Rules for more information.

Can vintage sellers participate? What happens if my item sells during the Awards?

Vintage sellers are welcome to submit an outstanding vintage find in the Vintage category, so long as it meets Etsy’s vintage policy. If you have multiple quantities of your item, we suggest that you continue to replenish any sold listings submitted until the winners are announced. If your item is one-of-a-kind, we require that you put this item on hold from the time you enter until finalists are announced in September in order to remain eligible.

How do the nominations work?

From June 17-July 1, the Etsy community will be encouraged to nominate their favorite Etsy shop for an Etsy Design Award at Nominated sellers will be notified and encouraged to apply to the Etsy Design Awards. While anyone worldwide can nominate a seller, the $1,000 Etsy gift card sweepstakes are open only to legal residents of the U.S. & DC, Canada (exc. Quebec), France, Germany and the UK, aged 18 years or older. See Official Rules for further details.

Do the nominations impact the winner selection?

A nomination does not guarantee that the seller will enter the competition nor will it impact the finalist or winner selection process.

Need additional support? Please see our Help article.